Filtrer par type

Le besoin de plans de reprise après une tempête, Cape Lookout National Seashore, Caroline du Nord

Patrick Kenney
Créé: 11 / 26 / 2015 - Mise à jour: 7 / 10 / 2019

Photos attribué au NPS / Michael B. Edwards. Incorporé ici sous un Licence Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Générique. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Résumé

Cape Lookout National Seashore est régulièrement touchée par les ouragans et autres tempêtes. Pour améliorer la gestion du parc, le parc devait élaborer un plan de relèvement après la tempête afin de garantir des décisions budgétaires judicieuses et de gérer les attentes du public en ce qui concerne les installations et les services pouvant être restaurés à la suite de ces événements majeurs.

Contexte

En août, l'ouragan Irene a frappé le 2011 Cape Lookout National Seashore. La région de Long Point du parc est une plaque tournante majeure des activités des visiteurs et des parcs sur le North Core Banks, l’une des trois îles principales du parc. Long Point sert de principal point d’accès pour les visiteurs arrivant par le traversier pour passagers / véhicules vers les banques North Core et pour les navires d’exploitation du parc. Les installations de ce site comprennent des cabines de location rustiques 10 (unités de location 20) pour les visiteurs, ainsi que des bâtiments supplémentaires utilisés pour les opérations du parc, notamment la gestion des ressources, la recherche et l'application de la loi.

Lorsque l'ouragan Irene a touché terre à Cape Lookout National Seashore, les ondes de tempête et les eaux de débordement ont aplati les grandes dunes et endommagé les installations du parc, en particulier le port et les infrastructures (fosses septiques, par exemple) à Long Point.

Exécution

Les documents de planification actuels des parcs ne fournissent aucune indication sur la manière dont le rétablissement après une tempête devrait être traité au-delà d'un cadre de réponse et de récupération en cas d'incident. La réponse du Service des parcs nationaux (NPS) aux tempêtes précédentes a consisté à reconstruire en nature. Au cours des semaines mouvementées qui ont suivi l'ouragan Irene, alors que le parc travaillait pour le restaurer à temps pour la haute saison des visiteurs, le parc a décidé de draguer le port à hauts fonds et de reconstruire les installations pour les visiteurs et les installations opérationnelles à Long Point.

Cet événement a mis en exergue la nécessité d'une planification de la reprise en cas de tempête et du dialogue public associé pour gérer les attentes concernant les impacts sur les ressources, les coûts et le temps de récupération des installations du parc. Il est essentiel que cette planification et ce dialogue aient lieu bien avant les tempêtes pour éviter que des décisions ne soient prises dans le «mode de réaction» qui survient après les tempêtes. En outre, les plans permettront d’examiner attentivement les incidences fiscales de la reconstruction des installations dans les zones à haut risque. L'augmentation de l'intensité et de la fréquence des tempêtes liée au changement climatique devrait accentuer l'urgence de ces problèmes.

Résultats et conclusions

Le parc a identifié plusieurs objectifs spécifiques pour le futur proche:

  • Dialogue public sur l'avenir de ces types d'installations et l'accès au parc
  • Orientations et politiques NPS supplémentaires concernant les dégâts causés par la tempête et la reconstruction dans les zones à haut risque
  • Développement de plans de récupération post-tempête afin d'éviter une prise de décision réactionnaire
  • Gérer les attentes élevées du public pour que le parc reconstruise ses installations

-------

Cette étude de cas fait partie du rapport du 2015 National Park Service, Stratégies d'adaptation des côtes: études de cas. Ces études de cas ont été initialement développées par les gestionnaires de parc dans le cadre d'une formation sur l'adaptation des zones côtières dirigée par le NPS qui s'est tenue en mai 2012. Les études de cas suivent le format créé pour la base de données CAKE (Climate Adaptation Knowledge Exchange) d’EcoAdapt, y compris une liste de stratégies d’adaptation. Toutes les études de cas ont été mises à jour et modifiées en septembre 2013 et Mars 2015 en réponse à un nombre croissant de demandes de parcs côtiers et d’autres agences de gestion côtières à la recherche d’exemples de stratégies d’adaptation au changement climatique pour les ressources naturelles et culturelles et les actifs le long de leurs océans. et côtes riveraines.

Statut

Soumis par l'utilisateur et révisés par CAKE Content Editor November 2015

Citation

Kenney, P. (2015). Le besoin de plans de reprise après une tempête, Cape Lookout National Seashore, Caroline du Nord [Étude de cas sur un projet de Cape Lookout National Seashore]. Extrait de Schupp, CA, RL Beavers et MA Caffrey [éd.]. 2015. Stratégies d'adaptation des côtes: études de cas. NPS 999 / 129700. Service des parcs nationaux, Fort Collins, Colorado. Extrait de CAKE: www.cakex.org/case-studies/need-storm-recovery-plans-cape-lookout-nation ...(Dernière mise à jour novembre 2015)

Contacts du projet

Une promenade en bateau à trois miles des côtes vous amène aux îles-barrières de Cape Lookout National Seashore. Observation de chevaux, bombardements, pêche, observation des oiseaux, camping, ascension de phares et visites de villages historiques - il y en a pour tous les goûts à Cape Lookout. Assurez-vous d'apporter toute la nourriture, l'eau et les fournitures dont vous avez besoin (et emportez vos déchets hors du parc) lorsque vous visitez ces plages isolées.

Mots clés

Cibler les changements climatiques et leurs impacts:
Érosion
Inondations
Tempêtes ou phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes
Type d'action / stratégie d'adaptation:
Infrastructure, planification et développement
Retrait géré des infrastructures bâties, relocalisation des personnes / communautés
Rendre les infrastructures résistantes ou résilientes au changement climatique
Gouvernance et politique
Développer / mettre en œuvre des plans d'adaptation

Ressources connexes

Examen du renouvellement du régime de Shackleford Banks, Cape Lookout National Seashore, Caroline du Nord

Photos attribué à Bonnie Gruenberg. Incorporé ici sous les Creative Commons Attribution-Share identique à 3.0 Unported Licence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Cape Lookout National Seashore devait déterminer s'il était approprié de rechercher des moyens d'atténuer l'érosion des rives le long des rives de Shackleford, une zone de nature sauvage proposée.

Réhabilitation des traversées de cours d'eau sur des routes historiques, parc national Acadia, Maine

Photos attribué à Joseph Zarro. Incorporé ici sous le Creative Commons Attribution-Partage à l'identique 4.0 InternationalLicence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Le parc national Acadia, dans le Maine, s'emploie à réhabiliter les réseaux routiers historiques et les ponceaux endommagés par les inondations et l'érosion de plus en plus fréquentes qui ont entraîné la fermeture et la fermeture du nombre de visiteurs.

Impact du changement de niveau d'eau du réservoir sur les ressources culturelles, zone de loisirs nationale d'Amistad, Texas

Photos attribué à Maekju. Cette œuvre a été placée dans le domaine public par son auteur. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

La zone de loisirs nationale d'Amistad, au Texas, protège de nombreux sites archéologiques de la région de Lower Pecos Canyonlands au sud-ouest du Texas. Les sites sont affectés par les fluctuations du niveau des lacs liées aux impacts du changement climatique, notamment les précipitations, les tempêtes et les modifications de l'utilisation de l'eau en agriculture. Les gestionnaires du parc documentent l'impact du changement des niveaux d'eau sur les ressources culturelles du parc.

Intégration de la réponse aux changements climatiques dans un plan de gestion général, Assateague Island National Seashore, Maryland et Virginie

Cette image a été publié dans le domaine public car il contient des éléments provenant à l'origine du Service des parcs nationaux. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Assateague Island National Seashore est en train d’élaborer un plan de gestion général qui tient compte des effets prévus des changements climatiques sur les ressources et les infrastructures. Le plan doit inclure une gamme d’outils de gestion permettant d’améliorer la résilience des ressources et de réparer les installations qui seront touchées par les changements climatiques et les tempêtes.

Résumé:

Assateague Island National Seashore est responsable du maintien et de la gestion de l’accès à une plage de loisirs affectée par les tempêtes plusieurs fois par an. Le maintien de la plage de loisirs à son emplacement actuel est intenable face aux tempêtes persistantes, à l'érosion des rives et à l'élévation du niveau de la mer.

Résumé:

Les impacts du changement climatique, notamment l'érosion côtière, la réduction de la glace de mer et le dégel du pergélisol, ont des répercussions sur la réserve nationale du pont terrestre de Béring (BELA) et le monument national du cap Krusenstern (CAKR) le long de la côte nord-ouest de l'Alaska.

Phase d'adaptation:
Évaluation
Résumé:

Les changements climatiques ont accru la vulnérabilité des ressources culturelles des zones côtières de la réserve nationale de Bering Land Bridge et du monument national du cap Krusenstern, le long de la côte nord-ouest de l'Alaska. Le bureau régional de l'Alaska développe et teste un modèle de SIG destiné à prédire l'emplacement et la vulnérabilité de ces ressources culturelles.

Sites du Shell Mound menacés par l'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'érosion, Canaveral National Seashore, Floride

Photos attribué à Ebyabe. Incorporé ici sous les Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported Licence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Le Canaveral National Seashore renferme plusieurs des plus importants, des plus intacts et des plus importants monticules à coquilles préhistoriques en Amérique du Nord. Quatre de ces monticules sont menacés par l'érosion provoquée par l'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'augmentation des activités des tempêtes.

Réduction de la vulnérabilité des installations pour les visiteurs côtiers, Cape Cod National Seashore, Massachusetts

Photos attribué au site de distribution de tuyaux de tuyaux à vapeur. Incorporé ici sous un Licence Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Générique. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Cape Cod National Seashore, Massachusetts, doit remplacer les installations pour visiteurs le long d’une plage populaire exposée à l’érosion côtière et aux impacts des tempêtes. La reconception de cette zone a nécessité une collaboration avec les visiteurs, les représentants de la ville, les ingénieurs côtiers et les scientifiques pour intégrer l'utilisation et les besoins des visiteurs aux réalités de la transformation du littoral.

Déplacement du phare, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Caroline du Nord

Photos attribué à Bohémien Baltimore. Incorporé ici sous le Creative Commons Attribution-Partage à l'identique 4.0 International Licence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

L'érosion en cours menaçait la base d'un phare historique à Cape Hatteras National Seashore, malgré les multiples efforts de protection de la stabilisation. Le parc devait obtenir des fonds et le soutien du public pour déplacer le phare loin du rivage en érosion.

Résumé:

L'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'intensité accrue des tempêtes tropicales constituent un risque sérieux pour la durabilité à long terme de l'historique Fort Jefferson au parc national de Dry Tortugas, en Floride.

Résumé:

Les installations destinées aux visiteurs dans la zone Flamingo du parc national des Everglades en Floride ont été détruites par deux ouragans à 2005. L'intégration de la durabilité des changements climatiques dans le plan de réaménagement a nécessité des efforts considérables en matière de collecte de données et de mobilisation du public.

Intégration du changement climatique dans le plan d'action pour la protection de la vie sauvage de la Floride

Cette image a été publié dans le domaine public car il contient des éléments provenant à l'origine de la NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) des États-Unis. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

Bien que les habitats et les espèces de la Floride soient confrontés à des menaces importantes liées à l'élévation du niveau de la mer, le premier plan d'action pour la protection de la faune de la Floride n'a pas pris en compte les impacts du changement climatique.

Résumé:

Ce projet visait à élaborer un plan visant à stabiliser un phare historique au monument national Fort Pulaski de manière à tenir compte de l'élévation prévue du niveau de la mer et des impacts connexes.

Restauration des zones humides de Jamaica Bay, zone de loisirs nationale de Gateway, New York

Photos attribué à GK tramrunner229. Incorporé ici sous les Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported Licence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

La zone de loisirs nationale Gateway a établi un partenariat avec d'autres organismes fédéraux et d'État afin de restaurer les zones humides de Jamaica Bay, un estuaire urbain eutrophique, grâce à l'ajout de sédiments et à la mise en place de plantations. Bien que le projet n'ait pas été motivé par les préoccupations liées au changement climatique, la réduction de la perte d'élévation des marais est compatible avec les méthodes de lutte contre l'élévation du niveau de la mer.

Résumé:

La zone de loisirs nationale du Golden Gate collabore avec des agences locales, régionales et fédérales pour élaborer une stratégie de gestion à long terme pour Ocean Beach, où l'érosion en falaise menace les ressources naturelles et récréatives, les infrastructures de traitement des eaux usées et une chaussée (la grande autoroute). L'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'augmentation des tempêtes devraient augmenter la fréquence des événements d'érosion.

Création d'un moyen de transport alternatif à Fort Pickens pour compléter l'accès aux routes vulnérables, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Floride

Photos attribué à Tony Webster. Incorporé ici sous les Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Générique Licence. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

En Floride, la route Fort Pickens au sein du Gulf Islands National Seashore est régulièrement détruite par les tempêtes et les réparations coûtent cher et prennent beaucoup de temps. Le parc continue de réévaluer les conditions locales et de mettre en œuvre des modes d'accès économiques rentables et durables pour les plages de Fort Pickens et le fort historique.

Résumé:

Le projet à grande échelle connu sous le nom de programme Mississippi Coastal Improvements Program (MsCIP) vise à restaurer plusieurs îles-barrières et à protéger les ressources culturelles du Gulf Islands National Seashore en recréant les processus de transport des sédiments et en remplaçant une partie des sédiments perdus lors du dragage et des impacts des tempêtes.

Reconnaissance des adaptations des coraux aux facteurs de stress environnementaux, Parc national des Samoa américaines

Cette image a été publié dans le domaine public car il contient des éléments provenant à l'origine du Service des parcs nationaux. Aucune approbation par le donneur de licence implicite.

Case Study
Résumé:

La lagune Ofu, qui fait partie du parc national des Samoa américaines, contient un habitat sain pour les récifs coralliens qui abrite diverses espèces. Le parc collabore avec des universités partenaires dans le but de comprendre les adaptations uniques du corail de la lagune d'Ofu aux multiples facteurs de stress environnementaux associés au changement climatique.

Résumé:

La Division des ressources géologiques du Service des parcs nationaux (NPS GRD) collabore avec l'Université du Colorado à Boulder pour élaborer des données sur le changement du niveau de la mer et les ondes de tempête que les parcs peuvent utiliser à des fins de planification sur plusieurs horizons temporels.

Résumé:

Les changements climatiques affectent les sites archéologiques et les ressources traditionnelles importantes pour les groupes autochtones de la côte olympique. Les objectifs de ce projet peuvent être divisés en trois facettes.

Résumé:

Point Reyes National Seashore a mis au point le projet de restauration des zones humides de Giacomini afin de restaurer les zones humides soumises aux marées à partir de terres agricoles endiguées.

Résumé:

Le parc national de Yellowstone a collaboré avec la Division des ressources géologiques du Service des parcs nationaux (NPS GRD) pour examiner les causes de l'érosion du rivage sur l'île Peale et pour identifier des options d'adaptation pour protéger le rivage et une cabane historique sur l'île.

Traduire cette page

Filter by Type

The Need for Storm Recovery Plans, Cape Lookout National Seashore, North Carolina

Patrick Kenney
Created: 11/26/2015 - Updated: 7/10/2019

Photo attributed to the NPS/Michael B. Edwards. Incorporated here under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Summary

Cape Lookout National Seashore is regularly impacted by hurricanes and other storms. To improve park management, the park needed to develop a post-storm recovery plan to ensure wise fiscal decisions and management of public expectations for what facilities and services can be restored following these major events. 

Background

In August 2011 Cape Lookout National Seashore was impacted by Hurricane Irene. The Long Point area of the park is a major hub of visitor and park operations on North Core Banks, one of three major islands in the park. Long Point serves as the primary access point for visitors arriving on the passenger/vehicle ferry to North Core Banks and for park operation vessels. Facilities at this site include 10 rustic rental cabins (20 rental units) for visitors, and additional buildings used for park operations including resource management, research, and law enforcement. 

When Hurricane Irene made landfall at Cape Lookout National Seashore, storm waves and overwash flattened large dunes and damaged park facilities, particularly the harbor and infrastructure (e.g., septic tanks) at Long Point. 

Implementation

The current park planning documents provide no guidance on how post-storm recovery should be handled beyond an Incident Response and Recovery Framework. The National Park Service (NPS) response to prior storms has been to rebuild in-kind. In the hectic weeks following Hurricane Irene, as the park worked to restore the park in time for the peak visitor season, the park decided to dredge the shoaled-in harbor and to rebuild the visitor and operational facilities at Long Point.

This event has underscored the need for storm recovery planning and the associated public dialogue to manage expectations about the resource impacts, costs, and recovery time for park facilities. It is critical that this planning and dialogue occur well ahead of storm events to avoid decisions being made in the “reaction-mode” that occurs after storm events. Furthermore, the plans will allow for careful consideration of the fiscal impacts of rebuilding facilities in high risk areas. Increased storm intensity and frequency related to climate change are expected to heighten the urgency of these issues.

Outcomes and Conclusions

The park has identified several specific goals for the near future:

  • Public dialogue on the future of these types of facilities and access to the park
  • Further NPS guidance and policies related to storm damage and rebuilding in high-risk areas
  • Development of post-storm recovery plans in order to avoid reactionary decision making
  • Managing the public’s high expectations for the park to rebuild facilities 

-------

This case study is part of the 2015 National Park Service report, Coastal Adaptation Strategies: Case Studies. These case studies initially were developed by park managers as part of a NPS-led coastal adaptation training in May 2012. The case studies follow the format created for EcoAdapt’s Climate Adaptation Knowledge Exchange (CAKE) database, including a list of adaptation strategies. All case studies were updated and modified in September 2013 and March 2015 in response to a growing number of requests from coastal parks and other coastal management agencies looking for examples of climate change adaptation strategies for natural and cultural resources and assets along their ocean, lacustrine, and riverine coasts.

Status

Submitted by user and reviewed by CAKE Content Editor November 2015

Citation

Kenney, P. (2015). The Need for Storm Recovery Plans, Cape Lookout National Seashore, North Carolina [Case study on a project of Cape Lookout National Seashore]. Excerpted from Schupp, C.A., R.L. Beavers, and M.A. Caffrey [eds.]. 2015. Coastal Adaptation Strategies: Case Studies. NPS 999/129700. National Park Service, Fort Collins, Colorado. Retrieved from CAKE: www.cakex.org/case-studies/need-storm-recovery-plans-cape-lookout-nation...(Last updated November 2015)

Project Contacts

A boat ride three miles off-shore brings you to the barrier islands of Cape Lookout National Seashore.  Horse watching, shelling, fishing, birding, camping, lighthouse climbing, and touring historic villages--there’s something for everyone at Cape Lookout.  Be sure to bring all the food, water, and supplies you need (and carry your trash out of the park) when visiting these remote beaches.

Keywords

Target Climate Changes and Impacts: 
Erosion
Flooding
Storms or extreme weather events
Type of Adaptation Action/Strategy: 
Infrastructure, Planning, and Development
Managed retreat of built infrastructure, relocation of people/communities
Make infrastructure resistant or resilient to climate change
Governance and Policy
Develop / implement adaptation plans

Related Resources

Consideration of Shackleford Banks Renourishment, Cape Lookout National Seashore, North Carolina

Photo attributed to Bonnie Gruenberg. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Cape Lookout National Seashore had to evaluate whether it was appropriate to pursue opportunities to mitigate shoreline erosion along Shackleford Banks, a proposed wilderness area.

Rehabilitating Stream Crossings on Historic Roads, Acadia National Park, Maine

Photo attributed to Joseph Zarro. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 Internationallicense. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Acadia National Park in Maine is working to rehabilitate historic road systems and culverts that have been damaged by increasingly frequent flooding and erosion events that were causing maintenance and visitor use closures.

Reservoir Water Level Change Impacts on Cultural Resources, Amistad National Recreation Area, Texas

Photo attributed to Maekju. This work has been released into the public domain by its author. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Amistad National Recreation Area, Texas, protects many archeological sites in the Lower Pecos Canyonlands region of southwest Texas. Sites are affected by lake level fluctuations related to climate change impacts including precipitation, storms, and changes in agricultural water use. Park managers are documenting the impact of changing water levels on the cultural resources in the park. 

Incorporating Climate Change Response into a General Management Plan, Assateague Island National Seashore, Maryland and Virginia

This image has been released into the public domain because it contains materials that originally came from the National Park Service. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Assateague Island National Seashore is developing a general management plan that addresses projected climate change impacts on resources and infrastructure. The plan must include a range of management tools for improving resource resiliency and repairing facilities that will be impacted by climate change and storms. 

Summary: 

Assateague Island National Seashore is responsible for maintaining and managing access to a recreational beach that is impacted by storms multiple times each year. Maintaining the recreational beach in its present location is unsustainable in the face of continued storms, shoreline erosion, and sea level rise.

Summary: 

Climate change impacts, including coastal erosion, reduction in sea ice, and thawing of permafrost, are impacting Bering Land Bridge National Preserve (BELA) and Cape Krusenstern National Monument (CAKR) along the northwestern Alaska coast.

Adaptation Phase: 
Assessment
Summary: 

Climate change has increased the vulnerability of cultural resources in coastal locations at Bering Land Bridge National Preserve and Cape Krusenstern National Monument along the northwestern Alaska coast. The Alaska Regional Office is developing and testing a GIS model that is intended to predict locations and vulnerability of these cultural resources. 

Shell Mound Sites Threatened by Sea Level Rise and Erosion, Canaveral National Seashore, Florida

Photo attributed to Ebyabe. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Canaveral National Seashore contains several of the largest, most intact, and most significant prehistoric shell mounds in North America. Four of these mounds are threatened by erosion induced by sea level rise and increased storm activities.

Reducing Vulnerability of Coastal Visitor Facilities, Cape Cod National Seashore, Massachusetts

Photo attributed to Steam Pipe Trunk Distribution Venue. Incorporated here under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Cape Cod National Seashore, Massachusetts, needs to replace visitor facilities along a popular beach vulnerable to coastal erosion and storm impacts. Redesigning this area required collaboration with visitors, town representatives, coastal engineers, and scientists to incorporate visitor use and needs with the realities of coastal change. 

Relocating the Lighthouse, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, North Carolina

Photo attributed to Bohemian Baltimore. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Ongoing erosion threatened the base of a historic lighthouse at Cape Hatteras National Seashore, despite multiple hard stabilization protection efforts. The park needed to obtain funding and public support to relocate the lighthouse away from the eroding shoreline. 

Summary: 

Sea level rise and increased tropical storm intensity pose a serious risk to the long-term sustainability of historic Fort Jefferson at Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida.

Developing Sustainable Visitor Facilities, Everglades National Park, Florida

Photo attributed to the dronepicr. Incorporated here under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Visitor facilities in the Flamingo area of Everglades National Park in Florida were destroyed by two hurricanes in 2005. Incorporating climate change sustainability into the redevelopment plan has required extensive data gathering efforts and public engagement. 

Incorporating Climate Change into Florida’s State Wildlife Action Plan

This image has been released into the public domain because it contains materials that originally came from the United States National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Although Florida habitats and species face significant threats related to sea level rise, Florida’s first state wildlife action plan did not comprehensively consider climate change impacts.

Summary: 

The goal of this project was to develop a plan to stabilize a historic lighthouse at Fort Pulaski National Monument in a way that considered expected sea level rise and related impacts.

Restoring the Jamaica Bay Wetlands, Gateway National Recreation Area, New York

Photo attributed to GK tramrunner229. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Gateway National Recreation Area partnered with other state and federal agencies to restore wetlands in Jamaica Bay, a eutrophic urban estuary, through sediment addition and plantings. While the project was not driven by climate change concerns, addressing marsh elevation loss is consistent with methods to address sea level rise.

Summary: 

Golden Gate National Recreation Area is collaborating with local, state, and federal agencies to develop a long-term management strategy for Ocean Beach, where bluff erosion threatens natural and recreational resources, wastewater infrastructure, and a roadway (the Great Highway). Sea level rise and increased storminess are expected to increase the frequency of erosional events. 

Establishing Alternative Transportation to Fort Pickens to Supplement Vulnerable Road Access, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Florida

Photo attributed to Tony Webster. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license. No endorsement by licensor implied. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

In Florida, the Fort Pickens Road within Gulf Islands National Seashore is regularly destroyed by storms, and repairs are expensive and time consuming. The park continues to reevaluate the local conditions and implement cost-effective, sustainable modes of visitor access to Fort Pickens beaches and the historic fort. 

Summary: 

The large-scale project known as the Mississippi Coastal Improvements Program (MsCIP) is intended to restore multiple barrier islands and protect cultural resources within Gulf Islands National Seashore by recreating sediment transport processes and replacing a portion of sediment lost to dredging and storm impacts. 

Recognizing Coral Adaptations to Environmental Stressors, National Park of American Samoa

This image has been released into the public domain because it contains materials that originally came from the National Park Service. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Ofu Lagoon, part of the National Park of American Samoa, contains a healthy coral reef habitat that supports a diversity of species. The park is working with university partners towards the goal of understanding the unique adaptations of the coral in Ofu Lagoon to multiple environmental stressors associated with climate change.

Summary: 

The National Park Service Geologic Resources Division (NPS GRD) is working with the University of Colorado Boulder to develop sea level change and storm surge data that parks can use for planning purposes over multiple time horizons. 

Summary: 

Archeological sites and traditional resources of significance to indigenous groups along the Olympic Coast are being affected by climate change. The goals of this project can be split into three facets.

Restoring the Giacomini Wetlands from Agricultural Lands, Point Reyes National Seashore, California

Photo attributed to Robert Campbell, robertcampbellphotography.com. No endorsement by author implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Point Reyes National Seashore developed the Giacomini Wetland Restoration Project to restore tidal wetlands from diked agricultural lands.

Eroding Shoreline Threatens Historic Peale Island Cabin, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Photo attributed to USGS. Incorporated here under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Summary: 

Yellowstone National Park collaborated with the National Park Service Geologic Resources Division (NPS GRD) to examine the causes of shoreline erosion on Peale Island and to identify adaptation options for protecting the shoreline and a historic cabin on the island. 

Translate this Page