Association of Bay Area Governments


The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) is the regional planning agency for the nine counties and 101 cities and towns of the San Francisco Bay region. ABAG is committed to lead the region through advocacy, collaboration, and excellence in planning, research, housing, and member services to advance the quality of life in the San Francisco Bay Area. ABAG’s planning and service programs work to address regional economic, social, and environmental challenges.

The Bay Area is comprised of nine counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma. All nine counties and all 101 cities and towns within the Bay Area are voluntary members of ABAG, representing all of the region’s population – more than 7,000,000 people. ABAG offers its members research and analysis, planning and outreach, as well as cost-effective member service programs.