World Meteorological Organization (WMO)


The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is an intergovernmental organization with a membership of 193 Member States and Territories. It originated from the International Meteorological Organization (IMO), the roots of which were planted at the 1873 Vienna International Meteorological Congress. Established by the ratification of the WMO Convention on 23 March 1950, WMO became the specialised agency of the United Nations for meteorology (weather and climate), operational hydrology and related geophysical sciences a year later. The Secretariat, headquartered in Geneva, is headed by the Secretary-General. Its  supreme body is the World Meteorological Congress.

WMO provides world leadership and expertise in international cooperation in the delivery and use of high-quality, authoritative weather, climate, hydrological and related environmental services by its Members, for the improvement of the well-being of societies of all nations.

WMO has 187 Member States and 6 Member Territories. Members are divided into six regions:

  • Region I: Africa
  • Region II: Asia
  • Region III: South America
  • Region IV: North America, Central America and the Caribbean
  • Region V: South-West Pacific
  • Region VI: Europe
    Phone Number: +41 (0) 22 730 81 11