Webinar: Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool - ROOT

Date: 
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Contact Name: 
Contact Email: 
Description: 

Thursday, March 22, 2 pm EDT/11 am PDT/6 pm UTC

Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) by Peter Hawthorne of the University of Minnesota and the Natural Capital Project. Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) is a software tool that helps decision makers evaluate trade-offs among different ecosystem services and visualize where investments in restoration could be made to optimize benefits for multiple landscape goals. It uses information about the potential impacts of restoration or management activities together with spatial prioritization or serviceshed maps to identify key areas for ecosystem service provision. It then uses multi-objective analysis to allow users to consider how to best manage tradeoffs between different project goals. ROOT has been applied in Costa Rica, Myanmar, Malawi, Colombia, and Brazil’s Espirito Santo State to help these countries optimize the placement of restoration activities for ecosystem services in national and subnational conservation, development, and agricultural objectives in support of increased ecological function to benefit people and livelihoods. It has not yet been applied in a coastal context but is applicable to coastal areas as well. The tool is free for download and use athttps://www.naturalcapitalproject.org/root. Webinar co-sponsored by EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe). Register for the webinar at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aRKelKZITpeb-1z-NX23ig.