Webinar: Two perspectives on evaluating MPA management effectiveness: Lessons learned from Australia's Great Barrier Reef and India

Date: 
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Contact Name: 
Contact Email: 
Description: 

Tuesday, March 13, 2018, 5 pm EDT/2 pm PDT/9 pm UTC

Two perspectives on evaluating MPA management effectiveness: Lessons learned from Australia's Great Barrier Reef and India by Jon C. Day of the ARC Centre for Coral Reef Studies at James Cook University. The term ‘Management Effectiveness Evaluation’ (or MEE) is well recognized as an important part of adaptive management for any protected area.  Differing assessment methodologies have emerged around the world, many of them building upon the Framework agreed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and its World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) for assessing management effectiveness. In this talk, Jon will discuss some of the lessons learned when applying the IUCN/WCPA framework to assess MEE in a large and complex marine protected area (MPA) like the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. Jon will compare and contrast this with a similar, but simpler, use of the same IUCN framework that he developed, working in conjunction with GIZ India, for Indian MPAs. Webinar co-sponsored by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe). Register for the webinar at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/7315185399054/WN_RJJIdIf-TGC38sdKd7HP8w.