Iowa Hazard Mitigation Plan

Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Posted on: 5/17/2019 - Updated on: 2/28/2020

Posted by



The Iowa Hazard Mitigation Plan is organized into seven sections: Introduction, Prerequisite, Planning Process, Risk Assessment, Mitigation Strategy, Local Coordination, and Plan Maintenance. The seven plan sections are consistent with the multi-hazard mitigation planning guidance issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The plan sections, along with primary subsections and annexes, are shown in the plan organization table below.

Each mitigation plan section is represented by a tab in the printed version of the document. If there are annexes associated with a section, those annexes are referenced by section number and annex letter on a tab directly below the section tab. On the first page of each plan section is a table of contents specific only to that section.

The State of Iowa has been proactive in hazard mitigationplanning since the 1990’s. The mitigation plan demonstrates the State’s commitment to reducing risks from all hazards, natural and human caused, and serves as a guide for state decision makers in committing resources to reduce the effects of these hazards.



Document Type
Adaptation Phase
Sector Addressed