Filter by Type

Second Report and Initial Recommendations Miami-Dade County Climate Change Advisory Task Force

Miami-Dade County Climate Change Advisory Task Force
Created: 3/31/2008 - Updated: 11/06/2018


These initial recommendations were drafted at the committee level for review by the Miami-Dade Climate Change Advisory Task Force (CCATF). After extensive deliberations and further development, the recommendations were unanimously approved by the full Task Force on March 20, 2008. The items proposed focus on both mitigation activities and adaptation strategies. Mitigation efforts include activities that attempt to slow the process of global climate change by lowering the level of greenhouse gases [GHG] in the atmosphere, such as reducing fossil fuel consumption. Adaptation efforts include proactive steps we can take now to begin the process of making the County more resilient to the impacts that we are likely to experience.

Published On

Tuesday, April 1, 2008


Community / Local
Sector Addressed: 
Development (socioeconomic)
Land Use Planning
Tourism / Recreation
Transportation / Infrastructure
Type of Adaptation Action/Strategy: 
Natural Resource Management / Conservation
Capacity Building
Infrastructure, Planning, and Development
Make infrastructure resistant or resilient to climate change
Governance and Policy
Create new or enhance existing policies or regulations
Maintain adequate financial resources for adaptation
Climate Type: 

Related Resources

Miami-Dade Climate Change Advisory Task Force

Photo attributed to Towpilot. Incorporated here under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license. No endorsement by licensor implied.

Case Study
Sector Addressed: 

The Miami-Dade Climate Change Advisory Task Force (CCATF) was created in 2006 to review climate change impacts and advise the Board of County Commissioners on priority mitigation and adaptation actions to respond to these impacts. The CCATF is made up of 25 members and seven committees representing different sectors, which are appointed by the Mayor, Commissioners, and County Manager.