Getting to Resilience: A Community Planning Evaluation Tool

Lisa Auermuller
[email protected]

Posted on: 7/25/2013 - Updated on: 2/27/2020

Posted by

Rachel Gregg


Through this interactive process, communities will learn how their preparedness can yield valuable points through voluntary programs like FEMA's Community Rating System (CRS) and Sustainable Jersey. The assessment process will also increase the community’s understanding of where future vulnerabilities should be addressed through hazard mitigation planning.

There are five primary steps:


Land Use Planners, Hazard Mitigation Planners, Floodplain Managers, Emergency Managers, Stormwater Managers, Natural Resource Planners, Municipal Engineers, Municipal Leaders, Zoning and Permitting Officials, Public Works Officials, and Conservation Organizations. All participants should be familiar with of their local plans, ordinances, and hazard preparedness efforts.

Managing Organizations

The Barnegat Bay Partnership (formerly the Barnegat Bay National Estuary Program) is one of 28 designated National Estuary Programs throughout the United States working to improve the health of nationally significant estuaries. The program is sponsored by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders, and Ocean County College.