Filter by Type

RABIT: Resilience Assessment Benchmarking and Impact Toolkit

Created: 11/15/2016 - Updated: 11/06/2018


RABIT: the Resilience Assessment Benchmarking and Impact Toolkit enables the measurement of resilience baselines, and also measurement of the impact on resilience of development interventions; particularly introduction of ICTs.  It focuses on resilience in low-income communities.

To understand resilience, RABIT identifies nine attributes – or sub-properties – of resilience. Three are primary foundations of resilience: robustness, self-organization, learning. Six are secondary enablers of resilience: redundancy, rapidity, scale, diversity, flexibility, equality. The stronger these are in a community, the more resilient it will be.


The Resilience Assessment Benchmarking and Impact Toolkit (RABIT) handbook is designed for an audience of developing country strategists and practitioners – working on ICTs-for-development (ICT4D), climate change, disaster response, and other focal areas – interested in assessing the impact of development interventions on resilience; especially community resilience. 

The Centre for Development Informatics (CDI) is a multidisciplinary centre researching the role of information and communication technologies (ICTs) in socio-economic development.


Scale of Project: 
National / Federal
Community / Local
Type of Tool: 
Tool Cost: